Wildlife at the Mareeba Wetlands

The Rambling Ecologist

Morning all,

After my lack of internet (and thus pictures) for the last few posts, I thought I’d make up for it with a ludicrously picture heavy post of some of the wildlife around the reserve/in my lodgings while I was at Mareeba. I’ll put names to as many as I can, but unfortunately I only had a few ID books in Mareeba, and so there was a lot which went enjoyed, but unidentified while I was there.

Unfortunately many of the best pictures are from inside my accommodation, where the wildlife seemed less inclined to run away.

To give you a brief overview of the habitat, Mareeba is approx 800-900 metres above sea level, around 70km to the west of Cairns. It is on the Atherton Tablelands, a large raised plateau on which there is a lot of farming (mangoes, bananas, avocados, limes, sugar cane, and bits of tea…

View original post 1,318 more words

Leave a Reply

